My Valentine

From queuing for Lim Chee Guan bak kwa to reunion dinner to non-stop feasting on good food for at least 3 days, Lunar New Year came and went very quickly. No doubt I’ve gained a few hundred grams.

Then came Valentine’s Day – a day when the price of a stalk of rose is doubled and florists earn tons of money from the boys. We did not celebrate with flowers, champagne or candle-lit dinner but with a high tea buffet session. I made a reservation at Cafe L’Espresso, Goodwood Park Hotel. It is an English high tea buffet with a spread of sandwiches, scones, desserts, salad and fruits. They serve smoked salmon too! We are also entitled to 2 drinks in which I ordered a pot of green tea. We made full use of the 2.5 hours to enjoy the food slowly. I’m pretty sure I’ve tried a little of everything on the menu. It is an open concept cafe and situated beside the pool. We were given a table right in front of the food so it was really convenient for us. The scones are nice and I like it when I can make my own salad with cherry tomatoes and smoked salmon. Shepherd’s pie and beef stew are on the menu as well. For cheese lovers, there are 4-5 types of cheese to choose from.

The price is slightly expensive due to the fact that it is a hotel buffet. I do not mind splurging once in a while for a special occasion but given the price and the spread of food, most probably I will not patronize again, at least not within this year. However, it is a nice experience! All the sweet treats gave us a sugar rush.

Please make a reservation before you go!

Tel: +65 6730 1743

Mon to Fri: 2pm – 5.30pm

Sat & Sun: 12pm – 2.30pm, 3pm – 5.30pm

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

