In a nutshell

I’m back from a long hiatus! I was too busy with my teaching that I hardly had time to blog. In a blink of eye, it’s November! It’s time for me to recuperate and enjoy wasting my time. Many things happened, so here it is in a nutshell.

I nearly vomited blood after my kids got back their mid-year exams’ results. Some of them scored very badly, literally or not. Of course, they realized they were in the wrong and quickly picked themselves up for the next exam. Sometimes, they just need some punishment and maybe a little, threatening? *a smirk face*

I celebrated my birthday at Mandarin Oriental with the boyfriend. We had a room overlooking the Floating Platform. It was so comfortable watching the National Day Parade from our room. However, a few weeks later, I was down with dengue fever. Call me lucky or unlucky, I would have never expected it to happen on me. I was tested dengue positive just three weeks before PSLE. Imagine how anxious I was. In the end, I had to take ‘no-pay leave’ for two weeks. My condition was not that critical but the platelets count drove me crazy. I had to take blood test every morning and get myself prepared to hear that my platelets count had dropped. I drank weird stuff like blended papaya leaves (yikes!) and 田鸡炖小苦瓜 (stewed frogs and small bitter gourds). From being very afraid of the blood test to being nonchalant about it made the doctor praised me, “You’re such a pro now!” The good thing is, my platelets count did not go below a certain limit that I had to be admitted to hospital. Once my platelets count started to increase, I went back to teaching immediately. I’m such a dedicated tutor, right?

I may have recovered from dengue fever but I believed the side effects of it are still in my body. Ever since I have recovered, my pimples popped out like nobody’s business. I was HORRIFIED. I had never had such red and huge pimples popping out on my face for a long time. When I thought the current few were recovering, a few more popped out. I was DEVASTATED. It lasted for the past two months. It’s getting better now, still struggling to lighten the pimple scars though, with the help of my skincare products and masks, and maybe more sleep? I’m currently paying off my sleep debts diligently. I had a secret weapon too, which I will specially dedicate a post for it.

Oh yes! My lovely boyfriend graduated from NUS and yes, he’s back to studying again, in SMU for his J.D programme. He deserved it! I hope I can write a few more posts before I fly off for my long-awaited holiday trip!

Overlooking the Floating Platform on National Day

Overlooking the Floating Platform on National Day

Leave a Reply

